In the Trayse Inventory menu set, click the Delete button at the top.
Deleting a record using the Trayse Inventory menu set.
In the Application menu, go to Record/Delete_ (in this example, Record/Delete Purchase Order...).
Deleting a record using the FileMaker menu set.
Use the quick keys Control+E for Windows and Command+E for Mac.
The Delete option is only available in detail view.
Most layouts have rules on what can or cannot be deleted. For example, an item with transactions cannot be deleted. This means that you can create an item that you anticipate purchasing. Before a purchase is made, you can delete that item as it will not have any transaction records. However, once that item is added to a purchase order, it may no longer be deleted.
Likewise, many of the order records (i.e. Purchase Order, Estimate Order, Sales Order, etc.) can only be deleted when the status is "New". Once the status has changed, then one or more processes have taken place and the order cannot be deleted.
Delete control for an item.
Delete control for a purchase order.
Users will receive a popup message, verifying that they want to proceed with a deletion. Notice how the Delete button is followed by an ellipsis. Likewise, the application navigation has an ellipsis at the end. This indicates that a message box will appear before performing the action.
An elipses (...) indicates further options or dialog.
Deleting Child Records
When a record is deleted, its child records are deleted as well. For example, a Purchase Order has a status of "New" and has 5 line items. When the Purchase Order is deleted, those 5 line items are deleted as well. The user doesn't need to do anything beyond deleting the Purchase Order in order for the 5 line items to also delete. That happens automatically.
Cancel vs Delete
Deleting a record and cancelling a process are two different actions. Cancelling a process will clear temporary data entry fields and not proceed with a given process (e.g. updating a record). Two different icons are used for these functions, but they are hardly universal, so it is worth noting.
In Trayse Inventory, a dash icon (or a minus sign) is used to signify that something will be cleared.
An x icon signifies that something will be deleted.